Our Teddy Bear's Journey

Theodore was born with renal failure. This is his story.

Joseph

on January 6, 2013

Did you know Teddy’s middle name is Joseph? Theodore Joseph.

We were originally going to give him the middle name of Aaron, in honor of my parents’ baby, who died. Then when I was in labor, we chickened out on that, in case it was bad juju. Which we don’t really believe in, but when you’re in the hospital, in labor, with pitocin, delivering a baby with no amniotic fluid and known kidney issues who is facing an uncertain future… well, you don’t feel like taking chances.

So Randy suggested Joseph.  (His mom’s name is Jo – well, her middle name is, sort of – my sister’s middle name is Jo, which is a nod to my aunt’s middle name of Jo, which is a nod to my great grandmother’s last name of Johanssen.) And, the Biblical story of Joseph seemed fitting. Joseph had a rough time there – being sold into slavery by his siblings and everything. But God kept his hand on Joseph the whole time, and did great things with him. God used Joseph’s circumstances for good. (The whole sibling rivalry thing there didn’t seem as relevant at the time as it does now, lol.)

So… because of the crazy Christian homeschoolers that we are, Bible is one of the subjects we study in school. The last few weeks, we’ve been looking at Joseph’s life. This week, one of the lessons was on Genesis 50:20. “20 But as for you, ye thought evil against me; but God meant it unto good, to bring to pass, as it is this day, to save much people alive.”

What you meant for evil, God meant for good.

And then the text asked Wally to think of something from his life that seemed to be bad at first, but that God turned into good.

He sat there for a while. And then he said, “Well, Teddy’s kidney disease.”

“OK, yes, that does seem bad, doesn’t it? How do you see God using that for good?”

“Well… I don’t know. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.”

Yep.

We talked a bit about all the good that has come from the situation so far, but agreed we’d have to wait and see what God does here. 🙂

5 responses to “Joseph

  1. Abby says:

    That was one of my Bible readings this week, too, and I saw that very verse and started crying, thinking of Teddy and how God is working just that in his life. Wally is right-we will just have to wait and see. Something amazing will come of his struggle.

  2. fatsinglemom says:

    I am NOT religious, but I love this story!

    I was older (34) and VERY shocked (but PLEASED) to be having a successful pregnancy.
    When those are your circumstances and your name is Sarah, baby just has to be an Isaac! Although I didn’t know whether he’d be Isaac David or David Isaac until I got a look at him (David is my Dad’s name!) And I love that Isaac means “he laughs” because he sure does!

    But any Abraham trying to sacrifice THIS Sarah’s Isaac would be in a world of hurt!

    • sarahtar says:

      You know what, it wasn’t until LAST WEEK that I ever really understood the Abraham sacrificing Isaac story. I’ve always honestly been a little like “OK, what kind of sick joke was this, guys?” And though Christians tend to hold Abraham up as a strong example of trusting God and doing what God asks you without letting your doubts interfere, part of me has always kind of looked down on Abraham, unable to imagine why on earth ANYONE would uphold THAT moment in his life as one worth emulating.

      Wally’s Bible textbook pointed out that Abraham told his servant that he and Isaac were going to go up the mountain and pray and then they’d be back. (which I’ve read before, but always thought Abraham was just covering up what he was planning to do.) But his text’s interpretation (and Halley’s, among others) is that Abraham fully expected Isaac to return with him. As I believe that I have heard God tell me Teddy will be OK, from the moment I first suspected I was pregnant (audibly, and I know that makes me sound like a loon), Abraham believed God’s promise to him that he would father a nation, and he didn’t honestly believe God would actually take away Isaac. But, like me with Teddy, Abraham didn’t know how God would keep his promise. He, as I, had to walk to the edge of the light. He had to go as far as he could see, trusting that when he got to the edge of the light, a bit more would be revealed (as when you walk around at night with a lamp in your hand – you can only see to the edge of the light, but when you get to the edge, you can see a bit further). Abraham likely knew one of two outcomes was likely – either God would provide another sacrifice, or God would raise Isaac from the dead. Either way, he absolutely knew that both would be returning that evening.

      Suddenly, the whole story makes sense to me, and is one I really identify with. I think I just had to be at THIS place in my life for it to click. God has not asked me to take Teddy up a mountain and burn him. But He’s asked me to sacrifice him in other ways, and to trust Him to make it good.

  3. Momma Aimee says:

    We see darkly now, and will not see clearly till the Final Days — nonetheless, I see Teddy touching people, bringing people around to God and living as a testamoney. Teddy will work for God, I don’t know how, but i feel he is already doing so, I hate to see you struggle daily, but God is using it.

  4. Molly says:

    This is great! Made me cry! Through my sons illness my relationship with God has grown immensely! I have also watched the trails and tribulations he has went through bring others to God! James 1:2-4 has become our new moto!

Leave a Reply

