Our Teddy Bear's Journey

Theodore was born with renal failure. This is his story.

This Week at the Clinic

on December 1, 2012

Well, I learned a valuable lesson: EMLA is a terrible idea for Teddy. It’s been a long time since we’ve tried it, so I decided to give it a shot. I almost asked if they could put it on just one arm and leg and leave the other, but I didn’t, and I should have. EMLA is a numbing cream, but it’s also a vasoconstrictor, so it makes your veins shrink up. Three terrible pokes later, we finally got labs.

Labs were ok. His BUN and Creatinine are higher, I think, than at any other time without him having something terribly wrong with him. (His BUN has been in the 90s before, but he was vomiting almost uncontrollably.) (BUN 79, Cr 3.0) Some of his other labs were just off – things that have never been issues before, like phosphorus and calcium, anion gap. Nephrologist suggested it’s just his kidney losing a bit of function. Though I think “just” is somewhat of an understatement, considering how badly we need that kidney to hang in there.

That’s about it. It was uneventful. He gained weight well, and seems to be doing OK, other than his labs kind of falling apart.

I don’t know how the rest of the team is feeling about how things are going, but I am feeling extremely nervous. I’ve almost resigned myself to a future of living in Iowa City with three kids and having to find a nanny.

Leave a Reply

