Our Teddy Bear's Journey

Theodore was born with renal failure. This is his story.

Planning

on November 15, 2012

I’m a planner. I can roll with the punches, but I roll better when I’ve thought about whatever situation we’re facing ahead of time. That’s why I had 5 birth plans for Teddy.

Since his birth, Teddy’s been making it hard to have plans. It’s hard to think about how we’ll handle what we might face in the future when I have NO IDEA what we’re going to face in the future. Teddy’s not following a predictable path.

Regardless, it’s becoming apparent that I need to be able to think of what we’ll do in a few potentially upcoming situations. First, what will we do if Teddy needs hemodialysis? Second, what are we going to do when Teddy gets his transplant?

And I’ve put off thinking about both of these things, because the answers are all that I don’t know. I just don’t know. I can’t realistically leave the kids with someone else 3 days a week. I just can’t. Equally unrealistic is bringing them here. Where tha leaves us (and school) is somewhat of a mystery. Do we find a nanny who lives in Iowa City? She meets us at the hospital, take the kids for the time Teddy’s on dialysis, and brings them back when we’re done? We can do school in the car and on home days? Do I have that kind of energy? Do we have that kind of money?

Do we find an apartment in Iowa City? Live at the Ronald McDonald house? Either option allows us to avoid so much driving but means we don’t see daddy and I’m a single mom of 3. Not ideal.

 

And transplant? I don’t know. Kids here in Iowa City? Kids home? Who is responsible for the kids?

 

Where is my Aunt Bea?? (of Mayberry fame)

 

Leave a Reply

