Our Teddy Bear's Journey

Theodore was born with renal failure. This is his story.

Random Thoughts Plus Teddy has Surgery #12 tomorrow

on November 13, 2012

Peds Surgery Department. You are not my favorite people on a GOOD day. Most of you are very arrogant (the ones who aren’t are not surgeons). Most of you are not yet real doctors who have earned the right to be arrogant. Don’t come in to examine my kid and tell me all about your 11 month old at home and how he just had to have surgery on his hand. Not to sound insensitive, but SHUT UP. I don’t care. I don’t know you. LOOK at my kid. Can you count the scars? I have managed to actually forget what some of them are from. So pardon my utter lack of empathy over your kid and his minor hand surgery.

“How is he doing?” is such a loaded question. I try to remember that people who ask this are genuinely concerned and they care. That’s why they ask. I just know that I have no way to answer that question. I don’t know. I don’t know how he’s doing. I’m not even sure if I should answer that question from a short-term standpoint, or a long-term standpoint. Or a mid-term standpoint? Would the answers be different?

If you walk in our room and notice Teddy is sleeping, you don’t need to ask if this is a good time for his aranesp shot. It’s not.

—-

Surgery #12 bright and early to remove his PD catheter and not be too resentful of everything that’s led us to this point, including all those other catheter surgeries, the dialysis training time, the buying of supplies for dialysis, the rearranging of our house for dialysis, etc.  Instead, focusing on the silver lining – baths in the bathtub. Not looking like a horror show if we go to the pool. Ability to be naked. No dressing changes. Kissing his chest.

One response to “Random Thoughts Plus Teddy has Surgery #12 tomorrow

  1. morethankidneys says:

    Hope Teddy’s surgery went well! Prayers for a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

