Teddy’s First Blends

I started Teddy’s blenderized diet yesterday. Exciting.

First, I couldn’t do this without our new Blendtec, which I was able to get through their program to help out kids with health needs. Awesome, awesome. The Blendtec is really really really extremely much better than a regular blender. Wow. Yesterday, I threw whole raw carrots into a smoothie – a full cup of them – and there were zero chunks in our finished product.

So… Teddy’s blend. I’m trying to replicate 2 scoops of PM 60/40. 81 calories, 2 g protein, 4.5 g fat, 8.3 g carbs.

I have a worksheet developed by an awesome fellow Kidney Mama that’s got a nice calculator chart on one sheet, and an awesome list of foods with their basic nutrient info on another sheet. I’ve added to it the foods that I’m likely to use with Teddy, and also added a lot of lines for small small quantities (about 1 T each). Many people make larger quantity blends, so having ingredients listed by the cup or pint makes sense, but I’m not quite ready for that step yet.

So he gets the protein he needs from his 2 scoops of beneprotein. Into the blender, I added 1 t coconut oil, 1T fresh sugar snap pea puree, 2 T steel cut oats (cooked), a 1 T fresh cauliflower puree. Approx. 93 calories, 5.25 g fat, 7.5 g carbs, 1.6 g protein.ย  (and 8 g salt, 59.2 g potassium, 1.3 fiber)ย ย  I’m not sure how to raise the carbs further, but I’m also not sure that I really need to.

I made the blend as thick as I could while still getting it smooth and blended, then thinned it out with breastmilk. I tried just syringing this in through his tube, but as with most bolus feeds, he puked it back out. I really wish he could tolerate bolus feeds… I’ll admit, I’m not sure how to work on this with him.

So, I thinned it down further and we just put it in through the pump.

๐Ÿ™‚ Success!

And, no picture. The blend looks about like what you’d expect oatmeal, peas, and cauliflower to look like all blended up.

One thought on “Teddy’s First Blends

Leave a Reply

