Our Teddy Bear's Journey

Theodore was born with renal failure. This is his story.

Interesting Question

on October 27, 2012

During our most recent hospital stay, I participated in another radio interview for a Children’s Miracle Network fundraiser. The guy asked me a question I actually found pretty offensive. “Do you feel like you got the short end of the stick? You had two healthy children and now this?”

WHAT?

Did I get the short end of the stick? ME? Yeah, that’s who I’m worried about life being unfair to. Me. Seriously? You can tell he’s never had a sick kid.

I don’t remember how I answered the question. I know I started with “um…. no” and ended with some sort of stumbling over myself answer about this being a challenge for our whole family but particularly for Teddy, and how hard it is to watch your infant experience everything he’s experienced.

Leave a Reply

