Our Teddy Bear's Journey

Theodore was born with renal failure. This is his story.

Music has charms to soothe the savage breast part 2

on September 2, 2012

Some gems from Ginny Owens, which I listened to on the way to our clinic visit on Tuesday. Ginny Owens is blind, and while I’m not going to pretend to know anything about her, I think a lot of her songs contain some bits of her struggle with that. I have always been a fan of hers, but more so these days.

If You Want Me To

The pathway is broken and the signs are unclear
And I don’t know the reason why you brought me here
But just because you love me the way that you do
I’m gonna walk through the valley
If you want me to

Cause I’m not who I was
When I took my first step
And I’m clinging to the promise
You’re not through with me yet
So if all of these trials
Bring me closer to you
Then I will go through fire if you want me to

It may not be the way I would have chosen
When you lead me through a world that’s not my home
But you never said it would be easy
You only said I’d never go alone

 

A lot of her songs are about God having a plan that we don’t have to understand, we just have to trust.

Many people who aren’t believers speak of religion as “well, if it helps you feel better, that’s great.” I will tell you, in all honesty, I’m not sure if believing that God has a plan in all of this actually does help me feel better, or if I’d actually feel better if I thought that infants born with kidney failure were just a fluke accident, you know? But the point of believing what God says is not necessarily to “feel” better, so ultimately it doesn’t matter.

One response to “Music has charms to soothe the savage breast part 2

  1. Megan says:

    Haven’t heard that song in forever. Brings me to tears. I had no idea Ginny Owens was blind, though. Gives those lyrics more depth.

Leave a Reply

