Our Teddy Bear's Journey

Theodore was born with renal failure. This is his story.

Music has charms to soothe the savage breast

on August 30, 2012

(yes, it’s breast. not beast. I’m sorry that people have such issues with the word “breast.”)

A few weeks ago, when I was still trying to adjust (again) to the idea of starting dialysis, Wally and Genna started watching a lot of Veggie Tales on Netflix. And then I would put the songs on for them in the car. (Um, remember napster? I was having a love affair with Veggie Tales when Napster was still around and Napstered most of the songs that were out at that time. Well before I had kids.)

God is Bigger Than the Boogieman

God is bigger than the boogie man
He’s bigger than Godzilla, or the monsters on TV
Oh, God is bigger than the boogie man
And He’s watching out for you and me.

Monster #1: So, are you frightened?
Junior: No, not really.
Monster #2: Are you worried?
Junior: Not a bit.
I know what ever’s gonna happen,
That God can handle it.

Wow. Yup, it was a nice reminder. And while it sounds strange to say that a children’s song helped me feel better about the whole thing and reminded me of who is really in charge here… well, it did. God can certainly use children’s TV and songs to teach me a little lesson. 🙂

PS, if I step back from myself, I find it interesting that I’ve developed such a dislike/fear of dialysis. It’s a well-established fact that I am change-averse… and I guess all this time we didn’t start dialysis, I just got used to it. I like our routine. I think I finally feel like we might have finally started to get our groove back. And now it’s going to be disrupted again and we’re going to be with a new, markedly less flexible routine.  And it’s unknown, and the unknown is scary. Except it’s not unknown, I had to drive across town to help my mom hook and unhook and all that fun stuff several times a week. At least this will be more convenient because he lives with me, lol.

One response to “Music has charms to soothe the savage breast

  1. Jamie Burdorf says:

    Sarah,

    You will just get a new routine. We feared it too. “Dialysis” was such a scary word, but now that we’ve been doing it for the past 15 months (Blake started when he was a month old), Aaron and I both agree it is far less scary than we ever thought it would be. It is what it is. 🙂 Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

