Our Teddy Bear's Journey

Theodore was born with renal failure. This is his story.

Milk Storage System – pumped breastmilk

on June 21, 2012

So, since the point of this blog is twofold, to keep people current on Teddy and to provide information and support to other families going through similar things, I thought I’d put up another few posts about how we do things. This is how I currently store Teddy’s milk.

Milk Storage

I always start a day with AT LEAST the current day’s day portion and night portion in separate glass jars in the fridge. In the morning, I put a ReCap lid on the day portion jar, so I can easily pour from it. Then during the course of the day, I pour off into bottles 100 mL at a time. He eats by mouth whatever he wants over the course of 2 or 3 hours, and whatever is left, I bolus in through his G-Tube. I am finding that this system (100 mL at a time, start over every 2-3 hours) is helping me keep up with his feeds – he was tending to fall behind during the day – as well as keeps the milk fresher when it’s so hot.

milk storage

Throughout the day, as I pump, I just cap the bottles from the pump and throw them in the fridge on the top shelf. I just let them accumulate during the day. When I get up in the morning, part of my morning routine is to prepare the milk for the next day or two. I measure out whatever his current day quantity is and pour that into a large Mason jar and cap it with a plastic cap. I measure out his current night quantity and pour that into a separate Mason jar (I currently am using a pint size for overnight and a quart size for day). If I don’t have quite enough for the full portion (for example, his current overnight is 450 mL, so if I end up with, say, 365, mL, I write 365 on the top of the plastic cap with a dry erase crayon and throw it back in the fridge.

Milk Storage

I only measure milk once a day. I don’t rebottle, consolidate bottles, or do anything else with milk during the day.

Currently, I’m pumping about as much as he eats in a day. Some days I’m a little short, some days I’m a little over. Every once in a while, I get 30-50 mL over. Over the course of a month, that sometimes adds up. I like to keep enough for the current day, the current night, and the next full day and night unfrozen in the fridge. If I ever find that I have more than that amount, I freeze any leftover. In the last 3 months, I’ve managed to freeze two bottles of 120 mL each. Not much, but better than what I was doing before that, which was going through my freezer stash like crazy.

Leave a Reply

